Wednesday, January 26, 2005


Now, let's see. I'm sure you want a name. Once, I walked up to the cafeteria woman when I was ordering lunch at my school, and told her I wanted a meat quesadilla. When she asked for my name to put on the order ("Name?"), my mind was somewhere else, and I replied "Chicken." So, for all intents and purposes, you can call me Chicken. If you've read any of my blog thus far, you can tell that I am a woman, twenty years old, will be twenty-one in May (2010). I go to a small private liberal arts college on the West Coast, which tells you.. well, it tells you nothing but the fact that I'm a student. I am studying psychology with a minor in theatre. I love to laugh, and often make word plays off of things others say. I've considered being a
comedian actually, but I probably wouldn't seem very funny if we ever hung out
(at least at first), because it takes a while for me to get comfortable. I'm currently taking a class on Russian literature, and a class on women in the arts, both by choice, because I enjoy reading and discussion of philosophy (Tolstoy and what music means/does). I have designed lights for the dance concerts at my school for two semesters in a row now, going on a third. I work for an old woman by night, and as a theatre construction worker by day. I know how to use power tools. I would enjoy cooking if I was any good at it. I read PostSecret religiously, I love dogs, I am compassionate for the homeless and abused. I do have vices (like french fries and biscuits. Yes, I am a biscuit fiend). I used to play piano, and I've always been interested in playing guitar, but have never had the money. I actually taught myself when I was younger, then my father decided that I needed to learn the right methods and put me in lessons. That lasted about a year. I am interested in photography, and all kinds of art. My mom taught me how to draw when I was too young to really be interested, but now that I'm older I've picked it back up again. It was like that with a lot of things she's taught me. I have a love of reading, and any used bookstore is my unrequited lover. I've been to France, but I've never been to Canada. I've been to five states not including the one I live in. My parents divorced when I was three, and I am an only child in that marriage. My father remarried my step-mother when I was twelve or thirteen, and she had a daughter as well who is four years younger than me. Her name is Mindy, and she's the sibling that I'm closest to. Then they had two kids. Christopher and Bailey. Then, when I was 16, my mom got remarried to this great guy. She actually met him through dancing; we had been taking lessons for three years at that point, and she wanted to practice somewhere, so she went to a country western bar with friends and that's where she met him. We're a very dance-oriented family. There are obviously more
details, but the whole thing is rather extensive. When it comes to music, I listen to a lot of different stuff. You would think I had multiple personality disorder or something. Seriously, I just looked at my top-rated on iTunes, and it's a huge spread including jazz, country, rock, alternative, pop, and Christian. I am very much a dog person. My best friend died in a car accident when I was a senior in high school.
These are the top things you need to know about me. I talk about some of them later in my blog. I understand that this is a little disjointed, and doesn't really have transitions, but really, do the basics have transitions? Enjoy reading!